Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Elsa!

Once JR was back from the gym, I set off across the Meadows to go for my chest X-ray. Then I walked along and had a coffee (and a croissant) at Kauai, where I haven’t been for absolutely ages. Then I walked back home on a different Meadows route. This time, I spotted from afar, what appeared to be a lion on top of something. 

As I got nearer, I could see that it was in fact a whole herd of lions of various ages. (Extras) This one, on the jeep, is actually the famous Elsa from Born Free - apparently it’s a scene from the film. I have fond memories of that film, because the (human) stars, Bill Travers and Virginia McKenna were in Oban (1969) when I was working there in my summer holidays, filming Ring of Bright Water. No - THEY were filming Ring of Bright Water, not me…

After 5,712 steps, I deserved a relaxing afternoon. I happened upon a series called ‘A Life in Ten Pictures’, which was great. I watched three episodes - Muhammad Ali, John Lennon and Freddy Mercury. Such a good idea, to have people, often the photographer, speak about defining moments in each life.

JR took Archie a big walk up to the paddock, then went into town, her alternative exercise routine, to get some cosmetics from Boots. She’s done a record number of steps today - 21,690!!

Absolutely, totally, shocked to read this evening that the Filmhouse has ‘stopped trading with immediate effect. ‘  The last time it was in the news, earlier in the year, was all the talk of a proposed new multiplex building next door, hoping to get planning permission. 102 employees lost their jobs today. One is an ex-teacher colleague. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.