After Midnight

Three months of rehearsal. Countless days sourcing props and costumes. Six hours to build the set. Six performances to a total audience of over 500 people. Yet one hour after the final curtain, props and costumes are back in storage, the final bits of the set are being dismantled and we’re all looking forward to a well earned drink!
It went down to the wire - possibly closer than any of us would have liked - but we were able to put on the production the director had always envisaged, with only a few compromises, mainly on the grounds of practicality. I’ve really enjoyed being part of this play and felt it challenged me more than some previous roles. Hopefully it will not be another three years before I’m part of a Footlights production again.
So, am I going to have a rest and put my feet up now? Of course I’m not - we’re well into Panto rehearsals now, so that’s my Sundays and Wednesdays sorted until Xmas.
But that’s the joy of (amateur) showbiz, and I wouldn’t have it any other way.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.