fur and fire

This afternoon, when the rain had (almost) stopped, I walked up to  FRED (Farmersfield Rest home for Elderly Donkeys), where an open day was being held (also on tomorrow). 32 donkeys live here very happily, as well as horses, hens, geese, a pig and a giant tortoise. During the week, young people visit to help look after the animals, and on Sundays, volunteers visit to do the same. I was shown around by a mother and her young daughter who both come up on a Sunday and obviously love their time here. I learned a lot about donkeys during my visit, for instance that, unlike horses, they don't have waterproof coats, so can't be outdoors in all weathers. Also, they get through a lot of hay!

I walked back home in sunshine, had a wee rest and then made the tea. I was looking out for fireworks (not much hope of seeing any out here) and thinking we were too late to go out and see a display, but D said "lets just get in the car and go now" so off we went to Lochside and a fabulous display put on by the lovely people at LIFT.

Very kind of D to delay his tea when he had been fasting for 48 hours (!) - he knows how much I love fireworks. 

What a nice day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.