Seeing Double

Two clumps of snowdrops are in full flower outside my front door.  Bought from a friend's nursery a few year back, they were offered as December flowering and have done so reliably every year.  I started with a couple of bulbs of each but now have many, happy snowdrops increase well.   A dull day, not the best for pictures, so here is one flower of each suitably lit up by flash.   The double one is Faringdon Double, the single one with the long pedicel is Mrs MacNamara.   Lots of others to come next month.

The run of quiet days was broken today.  My morning saw a visit to the dentist in Dolgellau.  I've had increased sensitivity since I had Covid but one tooth is especially bad, an upper rear molar.  Close to my irritable sinuses, the pain may be triggered by ongoing sinus irritation after Covid but the jury is out.  No immediate action but root treatment may be needed in future :-/   I called in at Abergynolwyn on the way back as I'm working there this weekend.   Nice to catch up with friends and I'm briefed on what we're offering and what we're not.  We're closed again for six weeks from Tuesday.

Ruth and I did finally make some gingerbread biscuits this afternoon and Meg had a walk but on returning I was bushed.   A siesta was obligatory and thankfully I was reasonably restored for the evening.  This was good as I was invited out for a delicious meal with old friends who are in town for New Year.   A nice break from routine and good to catch up.   

Sleep now!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.