Betty the dog …from Peggy aged 96

Today we got another batch of Christmas cards and it was lovely to receive this one from my sister-in-laws mother who was born a few months before our late Queen. I think she chose the card because for my daughter-in-law’s 60th birthday she gave her two black labs who are called Austin and Morris ( my brother likes old cars)! 
We try to visit Peggy when we visit my brother and did quite recently. Until earlier this year she had lived in the same house for over 60 years and continued to do so after her husband died. After a couple of falls and a short stay in hospital she is now in a really nice care home and in her card wrote “ My new home I love. I’m so happy it’s wonderful! “  such a relief to all the family that she does like it there. Also her hand writing is still so good, it has not deteriorated like mine!

Another rainy day so I did some touching up of paint in our downstairs toilet!

We usually have friends to stay for NYE and go out for dinner but they are not coming this year so we will have dinner at home and have invited our elderly next door neighbour to join us as I discovered he would otherwise be at home alone. His wife died less than two years ago and they always used to go out to a dinner dance on NYE. He has been to stay with his children and families for several days over Christmas. Another friend who has today returned from visiting her daughter in Grenada W.I. may also join us if she is not too tired after the long flight home.

Happy New Year everyone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.