2 years !!

So here’s two of my favourite things combined  - a flower and the view from my bathroom:)
I just want to say how much I appreciate Blipfoto, and all the people who visit my journal. Your regular presence in my life is a wonderful gift, which helps so much when times are challenging. And although I’ve never met any of you (except Snapjax - the friend who introduced me) I often find myself thinking about you:-) Like ‘I hope Bogdan in Moscow, Natali in Belarus, and Max in Ukraine are ok?’ Or I hope all the many blippers in Scotland , or the West coast of US, are ok in this terrible weather.  I find I’m hoping for progress for people who aren’t well, or sending good wishes to people whose mental health isn’t so good sometimes.  
And it’s so lovely to see your photos. Every day  I get to visit Brazil, New Zealand, the Netherlands, Spain  (North, South and Catalonia), Germany, the US, Sweden and even Belize. And in England I see lovely places too, many of which I have some sort of connection with: Plymouth, Teignmouth, Hull, Newcastle, East Anglia, Leeds, Surrey, Dorset, Manchester, Bingley, East Sussex. 
And I love to see your interpretation of your life and home area through your camera or phone.  That split second when you press the shutter, and then show us the results - it’s a wonderful thing.  I’m just a snapper with a phone really, but some of you take professional standard pictures.  I’d like to specially thank RobBris50 for his fabulous daily photos of Bristol, which reflect my adopted city so well - from the beautiful harbourside at sunrise, to the political activists and demonstrations. 
We all do our journals differently - like Fairyhedgehog, Beinghere, Snapjax, Jeansnaps, Nannyjuju it really is a journal, and I like to record what I’ve been doing and thinking about. It’s nice sometimes to look back and read it and think ‘Oh I did all those nice things:-)’
Other let their photo do the talking. That’s why Blipfoto is so good, you can use it in the way you want to. But above all I appreciate that unlike any other social media I’ve ever seen, it’s about kindness, warmth, encouragement, humour.  Yes we share thoughts and ideas but  - being the polar opposite of Twitter or Facebook - there are no spiteful put downs or pile-ons, or keyboard hate. Just some interesting discussion and occasionally an agreement to differ. 
I seem to be writing an essay on why I love Blipfoto so I’ll stop now and wish everyone peace and good things in 2023 XX

Oh I forgot to say how much I love to see your cats, and dogs, and also people like Hettycat and moloh who take fantastic shots of birds and hares and other wild creatures.  So skilful, and such a pleasure for a city dweller 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.