Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Hazel and Iain successfully flew down to London on the red-eye. A Very Early start, but no hiccups, unlike last time, when the taxi did not appear at the appointed time. Panic stations! We’ve had updates all afternoon - entering the plane, first glass of champagne, every course of lunch (on proper china - they’re Business Class).

I took Archie round the block. He wanted to go to the park, but I didn’t. So we always have a stand off for about 30 seconds, as he gazes longingly at the place of his desire, and then I say, ‘Not today,’ and he shrugs (or maybe not) and follows me.

JR had spotted a jacket thingie yesterday which she thought I would like, and it was on sale - a very good discount. I’m a sucker for discounts, so I agreed to go down today and have a look at it. We all went down on the bus to check it out. Unfortunately, it was too big for me, (unusually) and so that was that. I headed home, via the licorice shop. Anyway, it’s better that they go off on their own - they can go MUCH faster than if I’m dawdling along behind them.

Archie was welcomed into another shop, and even got treats. It appears that if you ask at the door if dogs are allowed, they always say Yes! A big fuss was made of him. I think the people working in shops get a bit bored some days with not many customers. They walked home through the Gardens.

So that’s Abi and Hazel off galavanting… Our time will come.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.