Half A Hidden Clock Face

I took a solo micro-trip out to Yalding today. It was the first time I had been back since last summer when it was bedecked in its Queen's Jubilee paraphernalia.
It's such a lovely village but by the time I arrived the early morning light that had promised sunshine had disappeared to be replaced by mostly grey skies with only the occasional burst of sunlight.
I wasn't having much luck finding an image until I stopped at the little wooden lychgate at the churchyard entrance looking along the cobbled pathway with a beautifully flowering magnolia tree leading to the church of St Peter and St Paul, which dates back to the 13th Century. I was trying to position myself to get a better angle for my shot and knew it needed an extra element when the light hit half of the cobalt blue clock face on the church tower, which had not been originally visible, and I knew I had my main image.
The extra is of the wonderfully elaborate village sign - it includes many features for which the village is well known - the medieval bridge, the church, hop pickers, a gypsy caravan, cattle by the river, oast houses, a canal boat, a blacksmith and the horse symbol of Kent at the top.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.