Another Languedoc year...

By SweetApricots

Hole? What hole?

Things went rather quiet this afternoon. Too quiet. Two dogs were in and accounted for. One was outside but where was he? I looked through my study window and spotted Flynn the husky in the neighbours' garden - on the wrong side of the fence - trying to see how he could get back home again.

I went to walk him back the long way round, but couldn't understand how he had got out. The gates were still firmly shut. I wondered if he'd jumped over, but this is the laziest dog in the entire world we're talking about. So I decided to walk the boundary. After a couple of hundred metres I discovered a huge hole in the chain link fence. Big enough for a dog to get through. But how on earth had he done it? He's usually too indolent to get up, so the thought of him chewing through a wire fence seems unthinkable.

I mended the fence with some extra I had spare, whilst pondering on how the hole got there. I'm still no wiser but I'm wondering if a wild boar ran straight through it while we were away earlier this week. It's possible and not unlikely, although I'm wondering how it got out of our garden. Would it have gone back through the same hole? Or might there be another escape hatch somewhere? I'll have a look first thing tomorrow morning.

For now Flynn's just laughing at me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.