Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Where did it all go??

We dropped Archie off at his new friends' place this morning. They've sent a photo of him enjoying his walk. All good. We're missing him, though...

Then we had a spurt of energy and spent the morning gardening. Though the new plants are not in yet - Hazel reckons it's going to be cold for a while yet - they'll be fine in their pots till we come back. And the garden bin is put out tonight, so good timing. She popped in on the way to Waitrose to buy some goodies for us tonight - we're popping over later to catch up. 

The ultrasound lady from yesterday rang this morning to ask me to come in today, which is great, because the first appointment took weeks. She suggested that I come early and drink lots of water while there, instead of walking across the Meadows with a full bladder!! 

So I sat there, beside the water cooler, and drank cup after cup of very cold water. More than 20 cups (I lost count), and an hour and a half later - STILL not needing the toilet! The nurse kept popping out to see if I was ready... Nope. I began to feel quite sick, and couldn't help burping all the time. And I began to shiver - I was SO cold.

She eventually brought me in, as their day was ending, and did it. She said she saw a small amount...

A SMALL AMOUNT!!??? I DRANK 20 CUP FULLS!!!!

After she had a first look, she asked me to go and 'empty my bladder'. Half a cupful emerged!! 

I asked where the 20 CUPFULLS had gone then. She said a lot comes out through the skin. Which might explain why I was bloomin' COLD. I've been Googling it, of course, and for most people, it's half an hour or so, or even minutes. She said I must have been dehydrated to start with. 

Anyway, she seemed happy enough with what she saw, and was going to inform the doctor that everything was OK.

Walking back through the Meadows, I couldn't believe my eyes - a vision in pink! In fact, two of them, but the other one wasn't ready for posing. It's costumes for the Art College Degree Show.  Absolutely fabulous, but the jogger missed it all! (Extra)

(9,044 steps!)

PS: Archie has had a nice day, lots of walks, now settled down to sleep. We miss him. (Extra 2)

PPS: A wonderful spread at Hazel’s! (Extra 3)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.