May 11

This was part of our project for today. I moved some things in this bed, as well as another smaller one on the other side of the steps, just to the bottom right in this frame. I did not design and plant this garden originally. When I did start working here, a couple of months after it was planted, I told the owner that things were planted too close together. Two years later he finally gave me to go ahead to move things around and redesign some of the gardens. Four of us worked in the front yard and 3 more worked in the back yard. We had an 80 foot x 18 inch long strip to remove sod, add soil and plant 27 junipers, then spread mulch around them.
I had to haul the sod away. Before E & I left to take it to the brush site, A jokingly said it would be a $70 load. He was right. It was $68. When I stopped to pay as I came out, the guy that works there, he has gotten to know me over the years. He said, 'You had some weight on there today" He is used to me hauling leaves and brush which costs $10 - $15 a load.
My crew knew it was my birthday today, so while E & I were gone, A went out and bought a cake to surprise me. He was even able to get 'Happy Birthday Boss Lady' written on it. 
Other than work, I spent the day alone. I went to Subway and picked up a sub for supper, then drove out to Eastern Passage and sat in the truck by the water while I was eating. A rather lonely 65th birthday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.