Fork to mouth

A typical birthday cake celebration in Tanzania is rambunctious and involves being fed cake off a fork by the person celebrating their special day. One of the workshop participants today marked one further rotation of the sun, so cake was procured. Here I am, after being called up to take my turn as one of the ‘bachelors’ in the room, relieved to receive my cake by hand on this occasion.

This wasn’t to last as there was a second round of cake in the afternoon, a turquoise blue iced number. This time we each had to receive a mouthful off the fork whilst the room whooped. This is not fun for a Brit. Public cake feeding is in the same league as opening presents in front of people. But who would I be if I couldn’t embrace other customs with gusto.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.