Chris Killip restrospective

We left early for my RVI eye appointment but the roads were quiet so I was early. My C dropped me off and drove to Dobbies to wait for the call from Bev and Tim that they had got their bag so then went to the airport to pick them up.

I saw 3 eye people - a nurse did a pin hole test, a technician did the peripheral vision one where you press the button when you see a light - I find that hard - then I waited in another area for a chap to do a scan of the eyes. I’ll get a teport in 4 or 5 weeks.

Mr C picked me up and we went to Gateshead to take our visitors to see the Hew Locke Procession. We were lucky enough to arrive just as a guide was explaining about it so they really were impressed. Tim is in charge of a NT treasure house so there’s been a lot done there about where the riches came from.

We had time to go to the Chris Killip retrospective. I was very moved by the photographs especially the sea-coalers, the miners’ strike and the children playing on the wasteland. Mr C gathered sea coal in the 70s as we were struggling financially- these photos were 10 years later. As far from now in time as WW2 was to then, the Thatcher years. A couple looking at the pictures asked if I was local. They were from Kent and said they didn’t know life in the north had been like that.

We went over the millennium bridge to the Slug and Lettuce or some such chain for a bite to eat then came home. We had tea and cake, a potter round the garden then a meal - roast veg Cous Cous, green salad and a tart with tuna, onion and tomato. All no dairy!

It’s been really cold but thankfully they brought jumpers and gilets. It’s been a great day of wide-ranging conversation and many laughs. Tiring though - they’d had to be at the airport at 7am, flying Logan Air, and I’m not used to constant full-on company. It was early bed for us all. No time yet for tap inspection.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.