Lots of snails out and about after the downpour

We had a ferocious thunderstorm with lightning plus hail and wild wind for about half an hour. We were at our daughters house where the gutters could not cope , the trampoline which is huge nearly got uplifted and rain splattered through windows which were only open about an inch! The road outside had about six inches of water but did go down quickly!

When I got home I went for a walk with Libby and there were so many snails out and about on the paths and pavements! I checked our electronic rain gauge at home and it said 30.3mm today? That’s a lot in less then an hour.

Earlier in the day I had my bank card swallowed by a machine outside our local Post Office. I needed cash to pay for a pedicure nearby. All very irritating but luckily the Post Office was open and the lady said she could see my card had not been returned so it would be cancelled and I should contact the bank for a new one. Luckily when I rang the bank they had a very efficient automated system to report lost cards and get a new one. However I did manage to speak to someone as well to check a few things. This is the first time this has happened to me but I have always wondered what would happen particularly out of hours and in a foreign country if a card was swallowed!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.