River of Flowers

By doffy

Wednesday: St. Tysilio / Church Island, Anglesey

Woke up during the night to the sound of rain bouncing off the windowsill but by 7am it had disappeared and we had a stiff breeze but it was dry!

MrD went off on his day of deliveries whilst I prepared myself for a visit to Menai Bridge, a walk around Church Island and lunch with the Tuesday Gang (who sometimes meet up on a Wednesday!).

The tide was high as I walked over the causeway to the island, there was a stiff breeze and it wasn’t very warm. 


I’ve always known that my Dad’s parents were buried in the cemetery, then I discovered my maternal grandmother’s parents were there too - very close to The War Memorial at the top of the hill, where all the ox-eyed daisies are flowering in today’s Blip. I also discovered one of my grandmother’s sisters and a brother.

A few months ago there was an even more remarkable discovery of my Mother’s relatives who’d moved to Anglesey from Llanllyfni, Caernarfonshire - I located their grave this morning :-)

It’s 12 months since I last visited Church Island but it’s never far from my thoughts :-))

Nos da pawb / goodnight all xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.