NightOwl45

By NightOwl45

Food Project, Torrential Rain and TRNSMT

A very late Blip.

I didn’t get to sleep until 4am. My upstairs neighbour had a blazing row at 3am this morning and I hadn’t been asleep anyway so getting out of bed at 7.40am in absolute agony as usual was even more excruciating than usual.

There has been a lot of caffeine, pain, fatigue and sadness today but I am doing my best to push through. I’m feeling very drained.

I had a quiet day, totally zombified between the fibromyalgia, the incredibly damp spell of weather we’ve had and my usual fibromyalgia and joint hypermobility syndrome symptoms.

Spoke to one of my best friends Rosie via messages and we’re hopefully going to plan a face to face catch up as soon as time and our respective health issues allow - she has fibromyalgia as well as ME and PoTs and lives in a nearby town.

This evening, I headed out in the torrential downpour to go to the local Food Project/Bank to collect some food items. It felt like winter in July!

Today’s Blip shows what I picked up and I nipped in on the way home to drop off some of the above to one of my neighbours, Davie. He’s in his early 80s, we always banter with each other when I’m going about my day to day business. 

He likes a chat and I think it’s important to make time for older people as we will all be old one day. I managed to get some Thai Fishcakes too and a loaf of bread for him too which he was very grateful for. He has a brilliant sense of humour and we often talk politics!

I was delighted to meet a Bulgarian friend  of mine at the Food Project/Bank and her two little girls who are five and ten. They are such lovely children. She has a seven month old baby too and was showing us photos of her on her phone.

When I got home, I got dried off and warmed up with a coffee, plated up some food and settled down to watch the TRNSMT music festival and relax. 

My body is on fire with pain and I am beyond exhausted but I am determined not to give in to my chronic health issues and to do as well as possible re the paced walking for Samarathon.

I didn’t manage any paced walking for my Samarathon paced walking challenge for the local Samaritans yesterday but I did 1.5 miles this evening on my walk to and from the Food Project/Bank. 

Keeping a tally of miles covered using my phone and taking as many photos as the weather allows as my ancient phone isn’t waterproof! I will Blip as many as I can.

I have let Duolingo slide for about four days but must get back into it tomorrow as I want to keep going with my beginner level Ukrainian lessons.

I know times are incredibly tough but if you can spare a few pounds I would be incredibly grateful. 

You can do so here if you wish and read my story and motivation to participate:

https://samarathon2023.enthuse.com/pf/emma-davies/post/3730337?fbclid=IwAR2dG-YGAFrLvsXX1YMUnP4_hY1vqwBdeWWKNEGAlX7O4g0a8yQVVUEwf4g

My apologies for the lack of catch up with stars, hearts and comments, I will find some time tomorrow afternoon to catch up :) xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.