Grammy

By Grammy

Not Your Everyday Walking Stick

We were up by 7:00 but took our time breaking camp. I packed all the non perishables in two crates to minimize the work once we got home. This fellow wanted to hitch a ride across the Potomac but we convinced him to stay in the Park. Walking sticks are actually the longest insects on the planet; they can measure up to 20 inches long with their legs outstretched. They live on every continent but Antarctica. In North America, the longest ones are seven inches. There are over 3,000 stick insect species. So glad this one visited our screen tent. We were on the road by 12:45. Our only stops were to grab burgers for lunch and fill the tank with gas. We had a quick visit with Skylar to say farewell and best wishes as she begins her next phase in life. We arrived at home around 3:15. It is such a task getting the camper in our driveway. We left it in the cul de sac and brought everything to the house in my van. Took three trips. The food is put away, the first load of laundry is washing and most everything else, except stuff hubby keeps in the basement, is where it belongs. No need to unpack my suitcase as I will need everything in it for Kim’s. The other stuff is in the queue to go to WV. I thought I’d lost one of my best gold earrings. Thankfully, it had fallen in a pouch in between the seats that we use for pencils, napkins, etc. Guess I will go work on the WV spreadsheet. Stay safe folks. Thanks so much for visiting and leaving stars and kind comments. “I don't care how small or big they are, insects freak me out.” - Alexander Wang

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.