ayearinthelife

By ayearinthelife

Fluff

Our domestic appliance issues continue. This time, it’s the tumble dryer which may - or may not - have tripped the electrics in the garage on Sunday. I say “may”, because there was a thunderstorm on at the same time and the tumble dryer seemed to be working normally once we reset the trip switch.
But…a closer inspection today revealed that all the filters were clogged with lint and fluff, which might have caused overheating. So, on the basis of “better safe than sorry”, I gave everything a thorough cleaning this afternoon. I’ll let it all dry overnight and then see how it works. I do notice that the label on the heat exchanger recommends cleaning it once a month. The fact that it was very clogged, we’ve owned the dryer for three years and during that time I reckon this might only be the fifth or sixth time it has been cleaned, does make me think we’ve been lucky not have had this issue before now. If it works okay next time we use it, I think I’ll set up a diary reminder to clean the heat exchanger on a monthly basis, to avoid future problems!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.