ayearinthelife

By ayearinthelife

Bead Bracelet

I knew there was one souvenir missing from yesterday’s blip as Mrs C was wearing it! It’s not specific to Sorrento, but it is definitely Italian and is something Mrs C had hoped to find during our stay. It is made from Murano glass beads, but we found it in Capri, rather than Venice. It doesn’t sparkle quite as well under grey English skies as it did in the Neapolitan sunshine, but it’s still very colourful.
It’s certainly brighter than I am at the moment. I was so exhausted yesterday that I was in bed by 9.30 last night. Thankfully, I slept right through until this morning and do feel a lot better for it. But I’m not yet back to “going to the gym” fitness, and have spent the day mainly huddled under a blanket in front of the telly. There was a brief bit of activity around lunchtime when we popped into town to get some of the things we couldn’t find yesterday. Annoyingly, the shelves in M&S were not much better stocked today, so we just grabbed a couple of things we needed for tea and hope that the situation will be better when we do the weekly shop on Wednesday. I called in to the library, ostensibly just to return a book, but whilst I was in there, I spotted a copy of Lucy Worsley’s book about Agatha Christie. I really enjoyed the talk she gave about the author’s life at The Lowry on Saturday and am looking forward to reading about it in more detail.
No reply from the plumber yet, but heating and hot water came on as normal this morning, so whatever I did yesterday might have done the trick.
I’m aiming for another quiet day tomorrow, as we’ve got tickets to see an audience with Michael Portillo in the evening. We should have seen him in January 2020, but that was just after I’d damaged my back in Panto - I couldn’t have sat for that long in a cramped theatre seat, so had to cancel. I’m determined not to let this cold prevent me from missing out for a second time, so another early night beckons I think.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.