Grammy

By Grammy

The Joy of a Large Family

I was up at 7:00 trying to tidy the house before starting the cookie making process. By 2:00pm, I had not made one batch. There are always so many last minute jobs plus the normal housework. Then I foolishly was not paying attention and a heavy metal step stool fell hard on the top of my foot. I’m icing it at the moment but must get busy. Hubby had a follow up appointment with the surgeon at 8:00. Mancil graciously took him so I could do my work. They removed the bulky bandage so he can drive now. He picked up the cake we won at the Rescue Squad auction, yellow cake with chocolate frosting, his favorite. Was glad to finally get the gifts around the tree. There will be at least 24 family members here on Christmas Eve. With only two gifts each, there is still a pile. This year their lists were so sensible: boots, clothes, small kitchen appliances, tools, photography books, etc. Just call me Practical Polly! The main focus in this room for the family is the Nativity. I started baking and have made peanut butter blossoms, oatmeal cranberry walnut and oatmeal chocolate chip with toffee bits. When those are finished, hubby will help me with the cracker candy. I will make the dough for the spritz wreaths and coconut pecan crisps after that. Those have to be refrigerated so I will bake them tomorrow with the mini strawberry cheesecakes. Normally I would do others but the girls and I agreed to do fewer kinds this year. I sure hope all your baking is finished. Stay safe. We heard the terrible news from the Czech Republic. So awfully sad. Thanks for stopping by. “May we never be so focused on getting gifts and presents that we forget to receive the gift of His presence.” - Gordon B. Hinckley

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.