Grammy

By Grammy

At Least We Will Have Dessert (for weeks)

We got up and started our final Christmas Eve preparations. Hubby went to the rescue squad to pick up the chocolate cake we won. While the ham and turkey baked, I did our last load of laundry. We put the leaves in our two tables and prepared them for tomorrow’s meal. I baked three types of cookies and hubby drove to the Catholic school that my children attended to pick up four dozen chocolate chip cookies that we won at their auction. They will be a nice addition to the cookie tins I put together for family and friends tomorrow. I like to support the local organizations. I made the pumpkin pies Thursday; my son-in-law will be happy. But by time to leave for 5:00 Mass, I was exhausted. We bought soup and salad from Outback for dinner. My kitchen is a disaster and I must clean it before bed. Hopefully I can finish baking the rest of the spritz cookies and make/bake the mini cheesecakes before everyone arrives at 11:30 tomorrow. I have four more gifts to wrap - two arrived today. They are ergonomic mouse pads; hoping that will reduce the reoccurrence of hubby’s carpal tunnel. One is for my sister to give her hubby for the same reason. Well, I must force myself to go into the kitchen while hubby is agreeable to help me. Please forgive me for not looking at your journals tonight. I will catch up on Tuesday, maybe even on Christmas Day if we have a lull. But if we don’t, sending wishes to each of you for a blessed Christmas Day. Thanks so much for all your comments and stars lately. Stay safe. “Happiness is baking cookies. Happiness is giving them away. And serving them, and eating them, talking about them, reading and writing about them, thinking about them, and sharing them with you.” - Maida Heatter

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.