Groggster

By Groggster

Christmas Unwrapped

We always get up really early on Christmas Day and today was no exception. We were out of bed and sitting with just the tree lights on and a glass of Prosecco in our hands by 6 am! 
We then opened our presents (today's image is the aftermath with our winter jasmine hedge added for a bit of extra colour) whilst having a good old chinwag with a couple of more glasses of Prosecco. This was then followed by bacon rolls. Lovely!
My brother was still feeling the effects of Covid - he hasn't been sneezing, had a cough or even much for a sore throat but it has left him feeling really tired. So he went back to bed for a little while and I cracked on with the veg prep for our dinner.
Once that was done I was heading upstairs to get dressed when I tripped and managed to fall up the stairs (nothing to do with the aforementioned Prosecco consumption I'm sure!). My foot was in instant agony and I thought for a second I might have broken something (that really would have added injury to Covid insult!) but thankfully within a couple of minutes I could still feel all my toes and the bruising started to appear. I did hobble about a bit for the rest of the day but eventually saw the funny side!
My brother always deals with cooking the turkey so over the next couple of hours we maintained a low burble of alcohol with a couple of glasses of a wine and our traditional snifter of Southern Comfort on ice between bouts of meat basting and checking on the veg.
I also came up with another culinary shortcut - frying the roast potatoes and pigs and blankets in the chip pan. Sacrilege I know but it doesn't half save a lot of faffing about. Me and my brother then had to time to get all the other elements of our dinner into the oven to warm up whilst we had our soup starter and another glass of wine. Glad to report that the dinner was delicious - the turkey, stuffing, pigs in blankets, veg, roast potatoes, mash, bread sauce and gravy - even though me and my brother did say so ourselves!
We couldn't even manage Christmas pudding afterwards and just settled down to some gloriously lazy TV watching - we watched the last episode of Michael Portillo's fantastic Andalucian travelogue and the Christmas iterations of GBBO (Great British Bake Off) and GPTD (the Great Pottery Throw Down).
We had a lovely day despite the best efforts of Covid and a foot injury! :-)
Merry Christmas to all my fellow blippers and I hope you had as much of a lovely day as we did.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.