ayearinthelife

By ayearinthelife

Sweep The Floor

That’s the first matinee done and we’ve got a couple of hours now before the evening performance. Most of the cast have disappeared off to the local golf club for something to eat - they’re well used to us there and will have the food ready and waiting for when they arrive, the order having been placed in advance.
I’ll probably go next week, but just didn’t feel up to it this week, so have stayed in the theatre to have a quiet tea on my own. I say “on my own” but, as you can see, there are still quite a few people around cleaning the auditorium and removing the detritus left behind by all the kids who came to see the show this afternoon.
For a matinee audience, they were pretty good. I was royally booed every time I appeared - had to repeat my opening lines a couple of times in some scenes just to get them heard! Buts it’s nice now to have a bit of peace and quiet after all the noise and bustle of the last three hours.
Mind you, that state of affairs won’t last too long as the cast will be back in another hour or so, to get back into costume and makeup for tonight’s show. The FOH people will probably be in even before then, as they will need to be in position before the audience start arriving. I think my voice will just about last this evening and then there’s only tomorrow’s matinee to get through before we have three nights off - bliss!
But, for now, I’ll make the most of this half hour of solitude.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.