soozsnapz

By soozsnapz

Apple tree pruning

The apple tree is important as it’s where I hang the bird feeders. The birds like it, as they feel safe and hidden. And until last year, it’s provided several kilos of delicious Cox apples every late summer. Last year nearly all were either rotten on the tree, or eaten by birds or bugs. So pruning and thinning out the branches is recommended to try to help it. The top is before I started, the next is when I’d finished.  If you are sharp eyed you can see Portia supervising from the roof of next door’s shed. Also, when I was chopping u p the branches to make them small enough to take to the tip, the little robin, who knows no fear, came to eat close to my feet. 
I also went to my singing group, which was as fun  as before. And in the evening I watched a film on streaming at home , The Bookshop which is based on a novel by Penelope Fitzgerald. Quite a nightmarish story about people’s unkindness to an incomer in their village. Bill Nighy and Emily Mortimer are superb. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.