ayearinthelife

By ayearinthelife

Shelf

Necessity, so they say, is the mother of invention. After having a good sort through my CDs the other day (i.e. putting them in order and finding homes for all the ones scattered around the house) I ended up with far more than I actually had shelf space available for.
But I did have this empty wooden shelf. It’s almost an antique as I made it in woodwork class at school some fifty years ago! And whilst it has graced the walls of many of our houses over the years, there was no obvious place to put it after we redecorated a couple of years ago. It’s languished in the loft since then, but I really don’t want to get rid of it.
However, a bit of hunting around in the garage turned up some offcuts from when the fitted wardrobes were built. Placed between a couple of rafters in the loft, they made an ideal backing for the shelf, transforming it into something suitable for storing excess CDs.
So now I have space available on the main shelves for any extra CDs I might obtain, and all our Musicals CDs are neatly stored in the loft - I don’t play them as often as the others but they are readily available if I do fancy a blast of Les Mis now and then.
And whilst it’s not the most elegant of solutions, it does the job and no drilling, nailing or screwing was required.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.