KateH

By KateH

Trip to the Sink

Dad used to call the Garden Centre the ‘sink’ because you threw so much uncertain money into it.  I always think of that.   I cut back a laurel tree that has let more light into a particular area and I felt the need to buy some plants for it.  It has slightly run wild for the last years (or re-wild to make it feel purposeful) and although that’s a look for a large part of the garden this is a bit prominent from the road and I’d like to make it feel a bit more looked after.  But it’s still a bit woodland and so I have got heuchera and euphorbia and a pretty coloured Ribes to go in.   In the front of the car is the moment of madness that every trip to the nursery engenders, a little auricula for the table outside the kitchen door.  

R left in the early morning with a plan to come back next week and tackle the shed. 

Although not that warm it didn’t rain, much, so I did manage a bit of gardening.  Mainly unearthing the perennials from the Spanish bluebells that are so ineradicable in this garden.   Note to self the Thalia daffodils I planted last year are looking so pretty in the shady bed. Pale ivory they really catch the eye.  I shall plant more next year. 

Vikram’s friend Iris, a cinematographer, stopped by on her way back from filming in Paris and Berlin with a mountain of luggage and equipment.  They went for a long walk in the woods whilst I soothed my aching limbs (from gardening) in a salt bath.  We ate a late supper and enjoyed the box of macaroons she brought from Paris,

In other news, Gary the window-bashing blue tit has become The Garys as there are now two of them and they are currently pecking off the masking tape that we put on the window to deter them and are presumably incorporating it in a nest  in some fashion.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.