Grammy

By Grammy

Gardening in the Rain

We were up before 7:00 so we could get outside before the rain started. I quickly grabbed photos of flowers in the porch container. Hubby had an early appointment for a hair cut. He did a bit of shopping and picked up our meds. As I was donning my gardening clothes, the sky opened. Plan B: catch up on ironing and pre-travel inside jobs. This wet cardinal stopped by for a few seeds. The rain stopped for a bit after the ironing was finished. We hurried outside. I transplanted the leftover tomato, pepper, squash and herb plants. Hubby got rid of more liriope in two gardens. I planted many daffodil bulbs that were exposed when we got rid of 1/2 of the ornamental grass and liriope. We had six celosia plants to go in the front fountain garden. Hubby mulched all the newly planted areas and the raised bed walkway. I put fresh pine needles in my raised beds. I also moved all our flower pots so they can be watered by our sprinkler system. Hubby repaired one of our underground drain spouts. It started to storm as we began putting all the tools away. We were covered with dirt from all the gardening. What a successful but exhausting day we had. Today is Jamie and Renee’s birthday. After our showers, we went over to deliver their birthday gifts and all the produce from my refrigerator. Otherwise, it would spoil while we are away. We had a late lunch/dinner when we got home. Hubby has a Knights’ meeting tonight. I plan to rest these old legs after getting more than 10,000 steps today. Tomorrow morning, I must pick the ripe blueberries and make Parker scones before we leave. Otherwise, I think we are ready. I hope your day was as productive as ours. Stay safe. Thanks for dropping by. "In the spring, at the end of the day, you should smell like dirt." - Margaret Atwood

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.