ayearinthelife

By ayearinthelife

A Change Is Gonna Come

Yesterday I mentioned that I had picked up my acoustic for the first time in a few months. What I didn’t mention is that I fairly quickly put it down again. I blipped it when I bought it in December last year, adding the comment “will this one be a keeper?” I can now confirm that the answer to that question is no. Though it looks - and sounds - great, it’s actually not very pleasant to play.
So it was a visit to R&T Music today, to see if they had anything with a shorter scale and therefore a bit less string tension. Naturally, they did, and I spent a very happy twenty minutes strumming away on this little Fender. That’s probably twice as long as I’ve played my existing acoustic in the whole of the last six months!
There was a deal to be done, and I even ended up with store credit, although there isn’t actually anything else I need at the moment. But Stuart was after a 1X12 cab and - surprise, surprise! - Vaughan was able to find him one that exactly matched the amount of credit I had available.
So R&T will order the cab, Stuart will pay me instead of the shop, I will get a new guitar and Vaughan gets an “as new” Fender Highway acoustic to sell on at a profit.
I love it when a plan comes together…

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.