ayearinthelife

By ayearinthelife

Steve McQueen

Today’s blip is inspired by fellow blipper dunkyc’s photo of a Ford Mustang and his reference to the film “Bullitt.”
I am ashamed to say that I have never seen this film all the way through. Though, as I was only 8 when it came out, it would be several years before I could legally view it anyway. But I have watched one part of it many, many times. I refer, of course, to the seminal car chase through the streets of San Francisco. I can quote you chapter and verse on the vehicles involved and how it was filmed, but I’m not really sure how the chase fits into the overall story.
A complete lack of anything interesting on the telly tonight therefore gives me the perfect opportunity to unwrap this DVD and watch the entire film. That’s right, unwrap. I have a never been watched copy of this movie, despite buying it at least ten years ago! I suspect that I bought something else that I really wanted, and this was to make up the “2 for £10” offer, but that doesn’t really explain why I’ve never watched it.
It avoided the pre-decorating cull in 2019 but, when the box of DVDs came out of the loft in 2021 (it didn’t actually take that long to decorate, but you may remember a thing called a pandemic which put the kibosh on things for a while around that time), it ended up in the pile marked “watch one day and then get rid of.” And, a mere three years later, that day has arrived.
I’m sure I won’t be disappointed and am looking forward to seeing that car chase one more time…

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.