From the dark corner.....

By Rozwood1970

Purple....

What is it with me and delivery drivers? I was talking to mom on the phone after work and she was saying she was looking forward to seeing me tomorrow and trying to plan the dinners for the next couple of weeks when a wiry old rocker - the pony tail, Pink Floyd t-shirt and tattooed arms gave it away - parked his white van outside the house and rang the doorbell. I remembered I'd ordered a big bag of Peckish Complete from Amazon and said 'Goodbye' to mom and opened the door. He wouldn't stop talking!

He started with 'Oooo this is a nice area! I was delivering to a block of flats in Chelmsley Wood yesterday morning and some kids threw a wheelie bin at me from a balcony two floors up! When I was in Small Heath this morning, I came back to the van and there was a bag of poppadoms on the bonnet! What do you think of that?' I was glad he didn't pause for me to answer as I couldn't think of a thing to say. He then started to talk about how great sat navs were and told me how he could find anywhere easily with the one he got for £40 from Ebay. It was when he threatened to go back to his van to get his TomTom out to show me that I said I could hear the phone ringing, thanked him and said goodbye!
He just said 'No problem! Have a nice weekend and keep smiling!'

I shut the door relieved and glanced in the mirror. Yes, I was indeed smiling through clenched teeth....

I had two wonderful chats earlier today during which I was definitely not smiling through clenched teeth. The second call in the afternoon was quite lovely and lasted the duration of a journey from England to Scotland with the exact moment the border was crossed being pointed out. Don't be alarmed as my caller was a passenger today....

I didn't go out for a walk which was just as well as I would have missed Amazon Man with my bird seed. Today's picture was all I had, taken this morning.

Track? Well, this is tricky! I asked a question while I was having my second lovely chat today and the answer was my blip title - 'Purple' so today's track is a bit of Jimi Hendrix - Purple Haze

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.