Doe and Fawns

We used to have a "mansion" east of town that was very secretive, very closed-off, very private. There were rumors of what went on inside the place, and rumors of a 2 lane bowling alley in the basement.

But...time marches on. The house was leveled, with a local church buying the property. The iron gate that surrounded the place was taken down. The only structure that remains is a 4 car garage, and the garage is covered in plywood. Not a great backdrop for taking pictures of a small deer herd.

I was surprised to see the deer as I drove past at 11 a.m. With a left turn...I snuck into the long driveway...as much as you can sneak in with a red truck. I took 5 shots at a distance...and inched closer. 5 more shots...then closer. How long would my luck last? 5 more...closer. 5 more...closer.

Momma deer finally gave me the "look." (Is that a female thing that even animals have?) All three jumped into action, and headed to the safety of the woods.

I fooled around with the photos..."putting" the deer into my backyard, but it didn't look natural. In the end...they are as I saw them...plywood and all.

I hope my daughter and her husband don't see this. I pull into the old estate, and attempt to take pictures. They pull in with visions of venison stew...venison casserole...venison shishkebab...venison fricassee. They have even taught my grandson Merrick this exchange. "What's a deer say?" "BANG!"

How could they?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.