From the dark corner.....

By Rozwood1970

'I ride through the city's backside...'

The only trouble with Edinburgh is that it is too wonderful. I first came here for a short visit when I was 15. Then, it was dad's first return visit since he'd left Edinburgh to join the army at 19. He had some painful memories he had no wish to recall. Mom and I had never been to Edinburgh before.

I knew I would be back many times and even at that age, I felt it was somewhere I wanted to live. Things happen. Life takes its weird turns and it was only in the last 6 years I have been coming up a couple of times per year. I can't do day trips here even when I am only in Ayr. It's like someone waving a delicious bacon sandwich at you and never letting you have a taste. I go home bereft and frustrated. At least being here a week, I get a bite.

Can you believe I nearly cancelled this trip for a couple of reasons? Thank goodness I didn't! My stomach was churning all morning. Mom came from Ayr to Glasgow on the bus with me before heading back again and I got the Glasgow to Edinburgh bus alone. What a great way to go it is! St. Andrew's Bus Station is the right side of the city for me and on the way past, I asked at the ticket desk if I could renew my Ridacard there and was delighted to find I could. I feel like a proper person with a valid bus pass in my possession! Maybe some car drivers out there feel a bit wounded, reduced to half a person if they can't drive or have no car for a while. I feel like that without a bus pass. Finding loose change for fares every day drives me mad.

Anyway, from there, I crossed the road and was soon on my lovely number 11 to my usual place. How glad I was to be here and knew as soon as my smiling host, David Kay opened the door of the A-Haven that I had missed being here so much. I have a wonderful high ceilinged room in the house this time looking out onto the front with ivy round my window; my usual backyard room already taken when I booked ages ago. It's lovely here even if I do have to try the haggis tomorrow!

I went back into the city centre once I'd unpacked and had a wonderful dawdle through Princes Street Gardens in a drizzle taking this picture, given a vintage look, of the Scott Monument, Jenners and some lovely buses before crossing the road. I happily had a cheeseburger, fries and tea in McDonalds - Sorry! I like it! - and then walked up George Street and caught the bus the short journey home. The weather may be dreich as they say in Scotland, but it doesn't seem dull and dreary to me. I love it!

Track? Well, as I have spent a lot of time on buses today, how about this cracking track from Iggy Pop? - The Passenger

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.