Back Forty Patchwork

Raised by the women, who were stronger than you know.
A patchwork quilt of memories only women could have sewn.
The threads were stitched by family hands...
protected from the moths...by her mother, and her mother...
the weavers of the cloth.

Family Hands...Mary Chapin Carpenter

The rain is coming, and my Sunday school lesson has not been started. A few pictures taken in the back preserve...a patchwork picture constructed...and VOILA!...blip be finished.

Sometimes the upcoming season is hard to face. The grayness of it.While I'm not a flower lover...I do appreciate all the lovely colors that surround us. It just adds something to our lives...much like the shining sun enriches us...makes us feel better.

As I've stated before...quilts always remind me of my mother, and my grandmother. Some of our most prized possessions are the now ratty looking quilts made by these women. When you slip them over your shoulders or legs...the feeling of warmth...the feeling of love...the feeling of family...surround you...embrace you...engulf you.

I'm not very good at linkage, so I hope this works. Here is the song by M.C. Carpenter. Have a listen, especially if you're a quilt person.

Off to do my lesson. Perhaps I'll watch a little golf in the background.(Never a good idea. It does nothing for my concentration.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.