Everyday I Write The Book

By Eyecatching

In the background

So I'm sitting at work at 8 o'clock this morning when my colleague Mrs C comes up with a big grin and says: "I just want to say that seven years ago I was all set to walk out and you took me out for coffee and told me things would get better and you were right. And I want to thank you because I wouldn't be where I am now if it wasn't for you". Not true of course because she is very talented and would have got there anyway but we had a hug and a laugh about all that had happened and I really can't imagine a better way to start the working day.

Later my colleague Mrs B offers to let me photograph the beautiful flowers she had on her desk from her dad's garden

And I went for a walk in the sunshine. And I helped a couple of colleagues with their problems and I got a few things done.

And on the way home I listened to an inspirational army priest on the radio talking about how he loved night patrols and crazy driving and he loved his job too, helping young soldiers. "It's all about people for me".

And when I got home TSM and the Boys were waiting and The Dizzle and I cooked supper together.

So the simple point is that what really matters isn't always in the foreground and looking colourful, it's the people in the background, the people all around you.

Cheesy I know. But true.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.