Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

New trick

My pal S came to visit this morning and we had a good old chin wag about her summer Baltic cruise, NHS, Syria (S has been there) and even more chins wagging about the Referendum. We both agreed that it had been terrifc to see everyone engaged in politics - even young folk. I hope this interest is maintained in the long term. Archie was his polite endearing little self, retiring to doze on my foot when S - on instructions - ignored him at first.

Then we did our now usual walk south, training on the lead. I do believe he’s getting it. Then he forgets. But JR will notice a big difference at the weekend, I think.

Bus training then a big walk through the Meadows. He invariably used to do a couple of poos while on the pavements, handily nearby bins. But now he seems to save one up for the Meadows, which means I have to watch him all the time, and sometimes he’s quite far away and I have to troop back with my poo bag to do my civic duty. And of course bins are few and far between which means carrying the warm smelly thing for miles. (Note to self: do not tie used poo bag to shoulder bag - impossible to get off).

If there’s one thing Archie likes it’s cut grass. Well, there are a lot of things Archie likes… He had fun leaping about in this pile while I threw handfuls in the air. Look at that green beard!

He’s got a new wee trick. He can jump up on to my knee in one wee spring. He used to have to clamber up and I had to help him, but now it’s easy peasy. I used to have a cat that could jump up into my arms when I was standing. When he got too old for that, he used to claw his way up.

At the moment Archie is snoozing on my lap, making typing rather awkward. Just as well he’s not going to grow any bigger. He’s getting a bit hirsute again - he’ll soon be having his proper Big Boy Schnauzer Groom.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.