The Moose is Loose

The good/bad thing about having the moose as your favorite animal is...everybody buys you moose stuff.

On the good side...my Mom took great pride in finding just the right moose (the one on the pedestal) for Christmas. And...my friend (and fellow moose lover) Shelley, painted the rock in the picture, and her husband Al framed it. And...they also bought me the moose hook. Special gifts from special people.

Also in the picture...a Thanksgiving moose, a Christmas moose, a moose in a sleeper, a wood moose, a hard rubber moose, a moose mug from Acadia N.P., and a moose frame with my 3 kids pictures in it. More special stuff.

The bad part? Sooner or later...you get too much moose stuff. Moose stuff everywhere. You feel antlered in, and that's no bull.

I save the good stuff, and the pieces that have some sentiment, and weed out the rest. The antlers I used for this backdrop, I purchased at a flea market in Maine. He wanted 50 dollars...I offered 35, and we settled on 40 bucks. I'm not usually a very good haggler, so I was kind of proud of myself.

Again...I need to reduce my moose. To have so many...I have no excuse. It's awfully close to moose abuse. But...what should I do...turn them loose...make them vamoose? Perhaps I'll do one of 3 things. 1. Send 'em south...hooked up to a Snow Goose. 2. Put them in a bag filled with refuse. 3. Hang them in a tree in my back yard...a Blue Spruce.

One last question...Do you think I'm being too obtuse?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.