A Bathing Goose

I drove my daughter and grandson down to the big city. (Detroit.) They were flying out of Metro Airport to spend a week in Charleston, South Carolina.

On the way home, I stopped at a big metropolitan park...where I usually see sandhill cranes. Alas...not a crane in sight.

I "settled" for a pair of swans, and a "herd" of 44 geese. (I counted 'em.)

I noticed that one goose wouldn't leave the water. 43 on shore...and one bathing beauty.

Oh...did she shimmy. Oh...did she shake. Oh...did she dip. Oh...did she dance. Oh...did she finally leave the water.

I quickly saw why she stayed in the water. She only had one webbed foot, probably losing the other one to a turtle.

She hopped up maybe 5-6 feet, showing remarkable balance. But then...2 "bullies" rushed her, and she was forced to hop off. I wanted to throttle the 2 attackers, but stayed away.

Both people and animals have amazing survival skills, and she really was a beautiful goose...but I couldn't help but feel a little sorry for her. Hope she survives.

The big park also has a small farm with a few farm animals. So...on my FLICKR PAGE are some more bathing shots, some goats, pigs, chicks, a bunny, and the other little animal...Merrick at the airport.

My remaining shots from the zoo yesterday will have to wait. Not ready.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.