.......Balshoy dye-ti......

For those of you who don't speak Russian......Big Kids!

Met up with our Russian friends at 10.00 at their hotel....joined by hebs and her husband and son James.

The reaction when Larisa saw me and the yell she let out had to be seen (and heard) to be believed.

Off we went to York!

Parked at the National Railway Museum....and went in...pictures and questions galore.

A walk to York Minster....more questions...."When did they start building the church?"....."How long did it take?"....."Why are people lighting candles?"..."Why are there no icons?"...a quick lesson in Medieval churches, Henry VII and the dissolution of the monasteries and the creation of the Church of England.

A spot of shopping next....I was very good....I only bought a Christmas bauble for Charlotte and one for the new baby (when she arrives)...and a sign for the Daughter's desk that proclaims "Be naughty, save Santa the journey"

Food...the ubiquitous McD's.

Then a walk to the City Walls...on the way the Russian spotted this carousel...and they all wanted a go....because in Russia "such things are only for children"....and then they spotted the roasted chestnuts............and then the Brandy Fruit Punch....eventually we reached the walls and Coombs Tower.

A walk back to the car park...and the long journey home. Back at the hotel for 7.15......and then a long stand in the cold waiting for the Boss to pick me up...and then the phone rang...the Boss demanding to know where I was......she'd only gone to the wrong hotel!

Home to find that she had been to Ikea and bought a new sideboard while I was away!......and the entire ground floor was in uproar.

Eventually sent out for Chines food at 9.00.

Then I edited all my photo's from the last two days and downloaded to a memory stick............it's now 12.30 and I need to go to bed....because I'm up at 4.00 in the morning to go to the hotel to give Larisa the memory stick and say Das vidanya!!!!!!!!!!

I know I've been rubbish at commenting recently but in my defence I've been up to my arse in alligators........I promise to catch up tomorrow.

hebs tells me we walked over 6 miles today....my dodgy Achilles agrees with her.

Das vidanya moy padruga.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.