Goals

But I would run 500 miles
And I would run 500 more
Just to be the [wo]man who ran 1000 miles
To fall down at your door

The Proclaimers


(See what I did there…)

Today is a special day for me. I have achieved every single running goal that I set myself for 2013. I have joined a running club and set PBs in all race distances – 5k, 10k, Half marathon and Full Marathon.

In fact, in 2013, I ran two marathons and managed to knock a total of 42 minutes 48 seconds off my 2012 marathon time. That’s over a minute and a half a mile – doesn’t sound like much to non-running folk, but believe me, it’s not too shabby!

And now, today, I have reached 1000 miles. This was a random arbitrary target that I set myself because I wanted to see how much I was running. I have run a lot more than I did in 2012, but I’ve never run because of the 1000 mile target – it’s always been either because I wanted to run, or I was running towards one of my other goals. Mid-way through the year I realised that it was probably a good estimation. I’ve worn this brand of socks for years – they’re 1000 miles (that’s the brand) triathlon socks and they’re the best I’ve found to run in. Now I feel I’ve definitely earned the socks that I wear!

I feel proud of my achievements this year. I’ve worked hard and it’s paid off. In the grand scheme of running there are plenty of people who work harder, run longer and further, win races and have better results. But for me, personally, this is a phenomenal achievement that I didn’t imagine possible even last year. I know it’s partly down to the amazing people I’ve met at Portobello Running Club and the unwavering supporters I have in Mum, Ian and Misty – so I’d just like to say thank you!

But of course, it doesn’t end here – the mileage is so exceptionally short today because I’m running another half marathon tomorrow…

Today's run: 1.5 miles
December running mileage: 20 miles
2013 running mileage: 1000 miles


In other news, I was very sad to hear the news that Nelson Mandela died last night. He was a remarkable man and his legacy will live on.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.