WoL

Well today was the last race of the year: The Water of Leith Half Marathon. This is quite an exclusive half marathon, it's invite only - for people who have taken part in particular races through the year or have marshalled for it in the past.

I wasn't invited, but a friend of mine had to pull out on Tuesday and offered me the place. I hadn't done much training since the marathon in September, but I figured it would be fine and I stepped in at the 11th hour.

I found it pretty tough going, but Sandra (second from left) was absolutely brilliant. She ran with me the whole way, even though she was much faster. Her encouragement got me through. The race was slightly longer than a half marathon - but at 13.1 I checked the Garmin and I was over my PB by about 3 minutes. Not too bad considering I hadn't trained for it.

I turned to Sandra with 50m to go and said 'let's speed up' and went for a sprint finish. Sandra didn't hear properly and so I pulled away. She practically dragged me the whole way round and then I stab her in the back at the end by beating her to the line. I'm an awful person...Don't worry, I think she's forgiven me and it was all in good humour! She knows I couldn't have done today without her!

From left to right this is Caron, Sandra, Nicola and I doing the Portobelles pose at the end of the race.

Now all there is left to do is to get ready for the Portobello Running Club Christmas Party tonight. I'm going to get my frock and my dancing shoes on and have a few celebratory drinks!

Today's run: 13 miles
December running mileage: 33 miles
2013 running mileage: 1013 miles

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.