#9 Spaces - Nils Frahm

Album: Spaces
Artist: Nils Frahm

One line synopsis: Modern classical minimalism given a live, widescreen electronic, synth makeover.

Best Track: Says (link is to a different live version)

---------------------------------

I've been a fan of the new generation of modern classical composers and the erased tapes roster features twice in this top 10. Nils Frahm is known for his minimal solo piano work, but on this release whilst it's still just Nils he's pulled in synths loops and a whole heap of multi-tasking to produce that rarest of beasts, a live album that feels like a fully fledged studio album.

---------------------------------

Second day in Nottingham, cinema trip in the morning to see Planes followed by a visit to the local city farm.

---------------------------------

Notes on the top 10:
* Yes I am sad enough to do a top 10 every year
* All albums must have been released this year
* I must own the physical copy of each of them
* I'm fairly sure there are other albums out there that would make this list had I got round to buying them, feel free to tell me what I've missed
* full countdown tagged nstop102013
* click through to see last year's top 10 and click through again for the year before that

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.