#8 Holy Fire - Foals

Album: Holy Fire
Artist: Foals

One line synopsis: Angular indie-types come closer to realising their post-punk for the stadium masses vision.

Best Track: Inhaler
---------------------------------

This is definitely the most populist album in my chart, but then Foals are a rare beast, a band who's fame keeps growing without their sound being diluted, in fact on this album they seem to be close to mastering their art. Angular riffs, odd time signatures, a hint of shoegaze, but all with an eye on the next pop hook.

---------------------------------

The observant amongst you will have noticed the return of my bobble, despite my sister in laws attempts to steal it from me.

---------------------------------

Notes on the top 10:
* Yes I am sad enough to do a top 10 every year
* All albums must have been released this year
* I must own the physical copy of each of them
* I'm fairly sure there are other albums out there that would make this list had I got round to buying them, feel free to tell me what I've missed
* full countdown tagged nstop102013
* click through to see last year's top 10 and click through again for the year before that

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.