No Static

By nostatic

#9 Are We There - Sharon Van Etten

Album: Are We There
Artist: Sharon Van Etten

One line synopsis: The National's favourite singer songwriter bursts free from the shadows and marks her own sound out.

Best Track: Your Love is Killing Me

---------------------------------

Sharon Van Etten's previous album came close to topping my 2012 chart (number 3) and this album comes close to reaching those heights and has definitely seen her receiving far more press attention, but it doesn't quite work as well for me. A lot was made of her moving away from the influences of The National, but I think she misses the touch of melancholy and elegance that they brought to the party. Still a shining light in the heavily cluttered singer songwriter arena.

---------------------------------

Took Arlo to see the reindeers down at Inverleith Park this morning and he ended up paying Santa an impromptu visit. This is the first year he's really been overawed by the thought of meeting Santa. Tree up in the afternoon, Polar Express on the TV, christmas spirit rising

---------------------------------

Notes on the top 10:
* Yes I am sad enough to do a top 10 every year
* All albums must have been released this year
* I must own the physical copy of each of them
* I'm fairly sure there are other albums out there that would make this list had I got round to buying them, feel free to tell me what I've missed
* full countdown tagged nstop102014
* click through to see last year's top 10 and click through again for the year before that

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.