From the dark corner.....

By Rozwood1970

A Christmas to remember

I hope you are :-
A) Enjoying your Christmas Day
B) Not too hungover if you are reading this late.

This morning was a case of me acting like a grumpy teenager I am ashamed to say. Mom marched me to mass at St Margaret's Cathedral in Ayr despite my protests at it being too wild and windy out.

My stomach rumbled all through the service and I considered going up for communion just to get something to eat! Nom! Nom!

I was hallucinating about turkey sandwiches and sprouts all through mass.

I mimed to all the hymns as usual. Why do they make them so high pitched? No wonder dogs are howling and yapping around the churches.

By the way, I think I've spent too much time with pigeons and seagulls. You know when you are trying to mime through 'Come All Ye Faithful' and then you breathe at the wrong time and squawk by mistake? I'm glad I was on the back row!

Father Keegans (Canon Patrick Keegans to give him his full title) was waiting outside to greet everyone and as soon as I shook his hand he remarked on my camera which was hung around my neck as usual. See what Blipfoto has done to me? I look like a Japanese tourist everywhere I go (apart from the fact I am pale and gingery of course).

I stood to the side waiting for a gap afterwards but he was amazingly quite pleased to pose for a picture for my Blip today pausing the hoards exiting the church. Father Keegans was the resident priest at Lockerbie just over 25 years ago. I mentioned that in Saturday's Blip when Canon Keegans had materialised on the telly in The Garrick before me.

We walked back towards home slowly and mom suggested popping into the West Kirk for a coffee. It used to be a church years ago but has been a Wetherspoons pub for the last 15 years. Needless to say, I didn't argue!

Two pints of Abbot Ale later (for me anyway), we went home for our lovely turkey joint dinner.

There endeth Christmas Day.

Track? The last Christmas one I'll play this year but with Bing Crosby and David Bowie, it's impossible to go wrong I think - The Little Drummer Boy / Peace On Earth

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.