Mo's picture story

By jettygirlx

MOOC! MOOC!

Do you know what a MOOC is? It's a Massive Open Online Course, provided free of charge and globally by a university.

Last term I did a MOOC through Coursera called Introduction to Philosophy and enjoyed it while also scrambling my brain.

But that has been far outweighed by the fun and brain-stretching I am getting out of Introduction to Forensic Science, a MOOC (I have 1500+ fellow students) delivered via a new provider FutureLearn which is owned by the Open University. This MOOC has so much challenging reading involved but I am loving it, largely because I am studying biological aspects of science for the first time since I was ejected from Biology after S2 at school.! Also, we have a based-on-real-life case to focus on and most of the material is delivered in short, accessible and well-presented videos. We also have live Google Hangouts !!!! A-MAZ -ING!!

On a more low tech level, after an hour's study this morning I have been taking my own fingerprints and am now going to analyse them.

I'm signed up for two further courses with FutureLearn later this term ... one on the Brain by Univ. of Birmingham and another on the Mind by Univ of Nottingham!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.