Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Blast from the past!

Yes, I went to the gym today. Somewhat reluctantly, it must be said. My man Gordon wasn’t there, so classical music was not wafting out quietly, but I know where the volume control is. It wasn’t too loud anyway.

I did a few exercises. I’m so amazed dismayed at how hard it is since the last time I was there, a couple of years ago. Five minutes on the cross trainer and I’m a wreck. I was watching my heart rate zoom up to well past where Gordon said not to bother going above. But I was on level zero! The (middle aged) man next to me was pounding away on the treadmill at high speed, sweating profusely and gasping loudly. When I finished my 5 minutes and staggered away, I checked out at his heart rate - miles below mine!!

I went swimming as well, but it was too crowded and so I only did a few lengths. It’s too hard doing the front crawl because you can’t see if you’re going to bump into anyone - that’s possibly why everyone does the breast stroke, but my legs won’t go those directions any more.

Home, hang up washing (I love the pulley) and into town to meet up with a school pal that I haven’t seen or been in touch with for oh, forty years… Met her husband, D, who chose to go and swim in the hotel pool instead of accompanying us for lunch. But he was very interested in my camera - what a nice chap!

Well, we had such a good catch up! H remembers she and I hitch hiking from Ayr to Edinburgh in a lorry, being dropped in Leith and not knowing where we were, staying with my grandparents and going to a Corries concert at the Usher Hall. Front seats procured by Uncle A. Why can I not remember this?? Weird isn’t it, what we remember or forget…

We had a great day, with lunch at the Fruitmarket Gallery and a couple of drinks in my favourite pubs in town. The man in this shot insisted that I take a photo of just him.

H and D have managed to get tickets for the Lion King tonight through the hotel. They are considering whether to come back to live in the UK or stay in Oz, but they do seem to be jet setters anyway, with a daughter and grandson now in Norway. I reckon 6 months here and six months Down Under would be a good compromise. I just need a wee pied-à-terre in Balmain, Sydney. If I had a spare £ million...

Home now, and a few chores to do before I feed my face and my addiction - Breaking Bad.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.