Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

A warm welcome at St Cuthbert's

The winds had subsided quite a lot this morning so I had an easy drive to Cramlington to see the physiotherapist about my troublesome shoulder. She recommends that I go to see the shoulder team in Newcastle to work out exactly what is going on and mentioned the possibility of an arthroscopy to sort out a tear. Just when I thought I was to be free of doctors!!

Before driving home, I called at the small town of Bedlington, home of the eponymous terrier. I was looking for a shot suitable for a pinhole image I have to produce for next week's class. I found some interesting gravestones but then discovered that the church was open. The warmth was striking - they have to keep a constant temperature to preserve the Saxon masonry and brick work.

Here is the delightful curate, Elizabeth, who gamely agreed to let me photograph her. She showed me around the church which has some interesting stained glass and a tiny chapel dedicated to the men who volunteered for both WWI and WWII.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.