Ten in One!

Killing ten birds with one stone here, or is it one shot? Visited the philatelist in Breda today and although I had already blipped two buildings I decided that this one was going to be 'it'. The Dutch postage stamp 'company' comes up every year with a new set of 'special stamps', which are more flambouyant than ordinary stamps but thankfully not more expensive, postage rates needing to stay uniform regardless what kind of stamp you use. This is one of the sheets from last year. Sadly, one can no longer purchase the special stamps from the small franchises in villages such as where I live, and not all the larger post offices have them either. PostNL decided a number of years ago that it was time to 'join the big guys' and have some money-making schemes just like any other commercial company. Humbug.

Make no mistake, though: I do intend to see all ten windmills 'in real life' one day. From what I can read here, most of them were/are used to grind corn, a couple were used to saw wood, and a couple also to dig for oil, but I really still need to look up what an 'oil mill' really does.

You can tell it's been a grey wettish day ... and no skating today ... I can finish other things ... *sigh*

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.