Bad morning

Day off with Audrey today and it didn't start well!

Angus is on a health kick (Doctor's orders) so got up at the crack of dawn to go the gym before work, waking Audrey and I in the process. She was grumpy as hell as a result and I had a sore Beyonce beer head to boot.

We caught the tram into town and I should probably have turned straight round and gone home because it was obvious how shattered she was but I foolishly persevered.

An urgent work job came in which involved me having to literally write a press release on the go on my iPhone. Felt really stressed but it was so urgent I had no choice as would have lost the feature for my client if I hadn't responded. I think Audrey picks up on my work stress as she was very unhappy when the pram kept stopping so I could write another sentence.

We walked up to Toys R Us and Mothercare at Ancoats as I wanted to get her some more accessories for her doll and a few new clothes for her. She hated being in the pram and was really howling. Mothercare has a brilliant book and play area upstairs so got her out for a bit (see pic).

Getting her back in was the issue! Realised she had been sitting in a nappy (explained the howling) and had the worst nappy rash as a result. Changed her but had no cream with me :( Wondered if the day could get any worse.

It did. On the way back into town for lunch, I accidentally ran the pram over a homeless man sleeping. I didn't even see him as it just looked like a bundle of bin bags by the road. He wasn't impressed (can't blame him) and he was quite threatening. Audrey started crying again. So did I (behind my sunglasses). Had had enough by this point.

We had a very quick lunch in Wagamamas and headed home in an expensive black cab as I couldn't face the tram after all that. Surely this afternoon will be better?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.