bucks life

By bucksmiss

Godparents

My sister Ca, Teddy and I visited my godparents, C and J in the Chilterns, South Oxfordshire today.

Ca had never met J which is weird to me as I know them so well. They're my godparents not hers. Whilst C has been a fabulous godmother to me, there's no reason she'd have known my sister. I'm very lucky as I've shared many holidays and weekends in their company and loved every minute. C did what a proper godmother should and made an effort to be a significant part of my life after my mother died when I was a child, treating me like I was special, including me on their family holidays and remembering every single birthday. For that I shall be ever thankful.

We arrived about 1.30pm, had coffee and introduced them to Teddy who is just over 5 months old. They don't have grandchildren of their own so it was nice to see them take to him and play with him.

We had a lovely walk through their village which is a real chocolate box one and has been used several times in Midsomer Murders. It's one of those sleepy villages that time forgot, where there is a no through road so there is no passing traffic and it's very quiet. It fronts the Thames and their next door neighbour used to be Michael Caine! The church has wall paintings dating from 13th century and in the 1920s one household kept a lion in a brick outhouse. Dame Clara Butt, the singer, used to live there too. Quite a place. Their house is up for sale as they're moving into the local town. They'll be sad to leave. I'll miss my visits there.

After more tea we headed home and I got to feed Teddy again and had my fill of cuddles. When I finally got home, L had made a delicious dinner of pork, cauliflower cheese and roasties. Pretty darned good it was too. We've now watched the first two Sopranos from 1999. So far so good. It's a rather ironic concept...the depressed mafia boss who's in therapy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.